March 15, 2014

Breakfast (or was it lunch? my 4 yo had a sleep-over at his grandma’s house last night, and my daughter was up really late, so after being up for about 45 minutes this morning, she went back to sleep for 2.5 hours…and so did I! When we woke up, then we ate):

2 slices of toast (veganism questionable) with buttery spread and jam. Half a slice of toast with peanut butter. A glass of almond milk with chocolate syrup mixed in.

Snacks:

A Menchie’s opened up right by my husband’s work, and the kids really wanted to check it out. Since my son had his pre-school vaccinations today, it seemed like a good treat to promise him for afterwards. I looked at the website in advance, which did indicate they had vegan options. When I got to the store, they had a handy legend indicating which options were vegan friendly. I looked through all the flavours that they were offering, and only one of them was vegan (it was a piña colada sorbet). Of course, the waffle-cones are non-vegan (they contain eggs) and a lot of the toppings also contain dairy. There is always a selection of fresh fruit for toppings, and they also have whole and crushed Oreo cookies, which are ‘accidentally vegan’ as well. I had kiwi and crushed Oreo cookies on my sorbet. I also spoke to the franchisee of the location who indicated that they were going to be adding a second sorbet flavour soon! He also mentioned that it’s part of their franchise agreement to always have a minimum of one of these options available, which is good news!

DSC_0323 DSC_0316 DSC_0309

I also used my chance to check out the veganism of Panago‘s gluten-free crust, and thankfully, it is vegan. I say thankfully, because I fed it to a bunch of vegans last month, so I would have felt really badly if it wasn’t actually vegan. To be extra sure, I checked with 2 customer service agents in the call center and emailed the customer care address for Panago. They sent me a really long response.

I also had half a green onion pancake. It was T&T brand.

Dinner:

tomato and onion curry

Rice with dal (thickened from the what the original recipe calls for by adding a small tin of tomato paste, half  of an an onion (chopped up), 2 tablespoons of ginger purée, 1 tablespoon coriander powder, 1 teaspoon paprika, 1 teaspoon curry powder, 1 teaspoon turmeric, 1 teaspoon cayenne, 1 tablespoon cumin, 1 teaspoon garlic powder and cooking uncovered on low heat for 10 minutes) and a tomato & onion curry. We also ate this with some Byblos methi parathas.

Leave a Reply

