Smoke’s Poutinerie

I was really excited when I saw that this place had opened up at U of C (where I go to school)! I love poutine!! I checked out the menu, and they had 3 vegetarian options – the traditional veggie poutine, the veggie deluxe poutine and the veggie nacho poutine. They  have other vegetarian options listed on their website menu as well, but only these three were posted on the menu in-store. Now, obviously to veganize these, you’d have to drop the cheese curds, and in the case of the nacho poutine, drop the sour cream. I thought (and hoped) the vegetarian gravy would be vegan as well, but just to make sure, I inquired online about it. Unfortunately, the vegetarian gravy does (totally unnecessarily, I might add) contain milk products. However, I still might check this place out and try either the veggie deluxe poutine sans cheese and gravy (so basically, fries with green peas, sautéed mushrooms and caramelized onions) or the veggie nacho poutine (with only the salsa, jalapeño peppers and guacamole).

2 thoughts on “Smoke’s Poutinerie

  1. I’ve been meaning to check those out, actually! It just would have been nice if the place I pass everyday at school had vegan poutine! Or else, it would not be that good ha ha, because I would just eat too much poutine.

  2. earthlings2013 says:

    The Poutinery in Kensington and on 17 ave and 7 street sw both have vegan poutine. They use Daiya so make sure you clarify, sparingly.

Leave a Reply

