Instant oatmeal with Almond Fresh.
I didn’t exactly have lunch, but I was snacking all day. I ate a handful of salted cashews mid-morning. Cashews are the world’s most delicious nut. I also ate an apple in the evening.
I had three pieces of toast throughout the day. Two of those were on bread that was vegan, but it was also kind of on the expensive side and the pieces of bread were extremely tiny. Like, really, really tiny. Tiny enough that it would make really cute sandwiches for a toddler tea party. My husband chose this loaf because he swears all the normal loaves of bread in the store had dairy in them. Is this really true? What do vegans use for bread then? Is baking your own bread a requirement of being vegan or something? I may have to actually go to a grocery store myself to investigate. In any case, on the vegan toast I had vegan margarine, and on one piece I sliced up half an avocado, and on the other I had homemade jam. My third piece of toast was on the Safeway brand whole wheat bread (non-vegan, using it up), and I had peanut butter and jam.
And then I realized: wait, doesn’t our homemade jam have gelatin in it? Darn. Guess I have to scratch that (really yummy) jam from the list of foods I can eat. There are ways to make jam that is vegan though. Just recently this jam recipe (in which the expert from Entrées Etc. recommends substituting agave for honey to make it vegan) popped up on my news-feed, so maybe one day when I’m feeling ambitious I’ll give it a try. Just kidding. I’ll never be that ambitious. I’ll just try to find vegan jam at the store when I go to check out that bread situation.
I also had some really awesome hummus (which, though it’s not listed as an ingredient, has an allergy note on the package saying it may contain milk or eggs. I think that this is just an indication that it is produced in a facility that processes milk and eggs, and so I’ll still eat it), with some really amazing vegetable chips. After eating the chips I decided to check on my assumption that the chips were vegan – and they weren’t! I was so disappointed! I checked out the Terra website though, and the Mediterranean style that we tried were the only exotic vegetable chips that had milk in them – all of the other ones were vegan-friendly, so I will definitely be trying some of those other ones in the future.
Since we had leftover rice that had been cooked in vegetable broth, we mixed in some peas, and ate it with asparagus spears that were rubbed with chili sauce and then baked, and some raita made with almond yogurt.
I tried a bite of the yogurt before my husband made the raita and it was nasty. It didn’t taste like yogurt (was kind of weirdly sour) and the texture was not only nothing like yogurt (instead of being creamy, it was a solid gelatinous mass), but really off-putting. That was disappointing, but maybe there’s other dairy-free yogurt products out there that actually taste good. In any case, this ‘yogurt’ was fine for the purposes of making raita.
I know I probably eat too many desserts, but I said I would faithfully record everything I eat so…I also tried a coconut milk ‘ice cream’ bar, and it was 99% as yummy as a real ice cream bar. The chocolate and almond coating was the best part, and the coconut milk inside was good too – it was just lighter and not quite as creamy tasting as real ice cream. But still really enjoyable. Eating only this type of ‘ice cream’ I think I could easily forget what real ice cream tastes like, and enjoy coconut milk ice cream just as much.